Governance and Ethics Committee

The Governance and Ethics Committee, comprised of a majority of independent members, was set up at the Fonds de solidarité FTQ during the second six-month period of the 2013-2014 financial year. It reports to the Board of Directors on its activities. 

Its mandate includes guiding and supporting the implementation of the Fonds de solidarité FTQ’s governance reforms based on the parameters dictated by the Board of Directors.

* Independent members with no affiliation with either the Fonds de solidarité FTQ, the FTQ or its affiliated unions. 
    • Robert Parizeau *

      Robert Parizeau *


      Robert Parizeau serves as Chairman of the Board, non-executive, of Aon Parizeau Inc., insurance brokers and risk management consultants, and in this capacity acts as advisor to the Aon Group in Québec. He sits on the board of SCOR Reinsurance Company of Canada and is an independent member of the United Auto Parts pension fund committees. Furthermore, Mr. Parizeau is co-president of the board of the Québec section of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

      He spent 20 years at the helm of Sodarcan Inc., an insurance brokerage, reinsurance and actuarial consulting firm. He has chaired the boards of Gaz Métro and the Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal, and has been a director of National Bank, Power Corporation, Groupe Canam and Van Houtte.

      Mr. Parizeau is a graduate of HEC Montréal (1957). In 2004 he received an honorary doctorate from Université de Montréal and in 2010 was named Director Emeritus by Université Laval. He is a member of the Institute for Governance of Private and Public Organizations (IGPPO).

    • Daniel Boyer

      Daniel Boyer


      After serving as secretary general of the Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec for three years, Daniel Boyer was elected president during the organization’s 30th convention in November 2013.

      Mr. Boyer became actively involved in the Syndicat québécois des employées et employés de service in the early 1980s and became union advisor in 1985. He was elected secretary general in 1999, a position he held until 2007 when he became the union’s president. He worked intensively on, among other things, achieving pay equity for female public sector employees.

      Mr. Boyer serves on the Executive Committee of the Canadian Labour Congress and on the General Council of the International Trade Union Confederation. He is also a member of the Office québécois de la langue française and of the Commission des partenaires du marché du travail.

      Daniel Boyer holds a degree in physical education and industrial relations from Université de Montréal.

    • Serge Cadieux

      Serge Cadieux

      Serge Cadieux has been actively involved in the labour movement both in the private and public sectors since 1979. He is currently secretary general of the Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec (FTQ).

      Mr. Cadieux’s first exposure to the labour movement was as a student working evenings in a garage whose employees were members of the United Autoworkers Union (UAW), now called Unifor. In May 1983, he joined the Canadian Office and Professional Employees Union (COPE) as a union advisor. He subsequently held various positions before becoming its executive director in 2004. Since 2007 he has also been national president and vice-president of the Canadian Labour Congress.

      In addition to representing the FTQ on the Comité consultatif du travail et de la main-d’œuvre (CCTM) since 2009, Mr. Cadieux sits on the boards of the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail (CSST) and the Institut de recherche Robert-Sauvé en santé et en sécurité du travail.

      Serge Cadieux holds a Bachelor of Law from Université du Québec à Montréal and was admitted to the Barreau du Québec in 1992. He also holds a diploma in industrial relations and occupational health and safety from Université de Montréal.

    • Michèle Colpron *

      Michèle Colpron *

      Active and respected in her profession for over 25 years, Michèle Colpron has 10 years of international business experience. She has been a board member of the Barreau du Québec’s Fonds d’assurance responsabilité professionnelle since 2012. She also chairs its Investment Committee and sits on its Audit Committee.

      During her 12 years at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, Ms. Colpron served as senior vice-president, Financial Management, ensuring sound management of the organization’s treasury and coordinating its financing activities on bond markets. In that role, she was also accountable for the Caisse’s performance. Prior to that, she oversaw operations as vice-president, Investment Administration. In a previous position as vice-president, Private Equity & Administration, Ms. Colpron was in charge of the Caisse’s private equity investments.

      Prior to joining the Caisse, Ms. Colpron was with Merrill Lynch Bank (Suisse) and before that served as CFO at Standard Chartered Bank in Switzerland. Her foray into the international began as an audit manager for Ernst & Young in London and Hong Kong.

      Michèle Colpron is a certified corporate director, duly accredited by Université Laval, and a member of the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec. She holds a Bachelor of Business Administration from HEC Montréal.

    • Jean-Claude Scraire *

      Jean-Claude Scraire *

      Jean-Claude Scraire is an independant consultant in strategic development. Since 2002, he has worked for different organizations and businesses in Asia, Europe and Québec.

      Mr. Scraire previously worked for 22 years at the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec where he served as Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer from 1995 to 2002. He also held various positions in Québec public administration from 1974 to 1981, including at the Ministère de la Justice.

      Committed to economic development and strongly believing in the importance of entrepreneurship while respecting the local communities, Jean-Claude Scraire has recently chaired the board of directors of Investissement Québec and the Fondation de l’entrepreneurship.

      Member of the Barreau du Québec since 1970, Mr. Scraire is also a member of the Fondation de l’entrepreneurship and the University Club.

    • Claude Séguin *

      Claude Séguin *

      Conseiller du fondateur et président exécutif du conseil d'administration de Groupe CGI inc. et administrateur de sociétés

      Mr. Séguin has served as Advisor to the Founder and Executive Chairman of CGI Board since October 2016. He joined the organization in 2003, as Senior Vice-President of Corporate Development and Strategic Investments. Before joining CGI, Mr. Séguin held the position of President of CDP Capital-Placements privés at Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec. He had previously served as Executive Vice-President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer at Teleglobe Inc.

      From 1987 to 1992, Mr. Séguin was Deputy Minister of Finance for the Province of Québec, and he served as Assistant Deputy Minister for Financial Policies and Crown Corporations for the same ministry from 1983 to 1987. He also worked at the Québec Treasury Board.

      Mr. Séguin holds a Bachelor’s degree from HEC Montréal, and earned a Master’s degree and a Ph.D. in Public Administration from Syracuse University in New York.

      In addition to acting as Chairman of the Board of Finance Montréal, Mr. Séguin is a member of the boards of HEC Montréal, the Centraide of Greater Montreal Foundation, the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montréal and EXFO Inc. He also co-authored the reports entitled “A city that lives up to our aspirations” and “The Maintenance and Development of Head Offices in Québec”.